Radiation Oncology

Welcome message


The Department of Radiation Oncology at UT Health San Antonio, is located at the Mays Cancer Center and holds a designation by the National Cancer Institute.  With eight vaults, five state-of-the art linear accelerators, one high dose rate afterloader and two CT simulators, we are one of the largest and technically most advanced departments of radiation oncology in the U.S.A.

In addition to standard of care treatments, we offer many clinical trials through the national cooperative study groups such as NRG (NSABP, RTOG and GOG)  and SWOG (Southwest Oncology Group).

True to our academic mission, in addition to excellence in clinical care, we have a strong commitment to education and research. We have an accredited medical residency program with six residents over teh four years of residency.  We also offer a medical physics residency as well as PhD and DMP (Doctorate in Medical Physics) programs.  The division of radiation biology well known for its research prosuctivity in DNA repair but also its translational research in radiation protectors. The division of medical physics is well known for its tremendous research productivity and the educational programs they offer.
Close collaboration among the medical physics, basic science and clinical faculty members is greatly fostered in our department to constantly pursue a better way to diagnose and treat cancer.